My 30 by 30 List

December 11, 2010

Back in July, I started a blog.  I had some encouragement, and it sounded like fun. There was no real purpose to it and I eventually got frustrated.  I would write about one topic for a while, then realize I wanted to write about something else so I just switched gears.  How annoying for my one, lone reader, no?  So, I got to thinking, what better way to be able to write about completely random topics than to create and blog about a 30 by 30 list.  Besides, the world hasn’t seen enough 30 by 30 lists yet, has it?

Caveat, disclaimer, etc:  This list is subject to change.  I made it rather quickly.  Also, I will (probably) explain why each thing is on the list when I actually blog about it.

So, here it is, the 30 things I want to do before I turn 30:

  1. Eat vegan/vegetarian for at least one month
  2. Grow an herb garden
  3. Run a half marathon and a marathon
  4. Run an 8 min. mile, maybe even run a 5K at an 8 min. mile pace
  5. Take cycling classes regularly
  6. Take yoga regularly
  7. Climb/hike to the top of Camelback Mountain
  8. Lose weight
  9. Learn to calm down/relax/meditate
  10. Go to a foreign country I haven’t been to before
  11. Learn another language
  12. Read a book in a foreign language
  13. Learn to cook 10 new recipes
  14. Learn to bake 10 new recipes
  15. Learn 10 Filipino recipes
  16. See an opera
  17. See a ballet
  18. Try something new with my appearance
  19. Get my eyes and teeth fixed
  20. Expand my family tree
  21. Read 30 books (10 books I should have read in high school but didn’t, 10 books collecting dust on my bookshelf and 10 books purely from recommendations)
  22. Sew 10 things I’ll actually wear in public
  23. Take a pottery/ceramics class
  24. Get a job I love
  25. Invest in stock
  26. Open a Roth IRA
  27. Take a picture a day for 365 days
  28. Buy and learn how to use a digital SLR
  29. Regularly volunteer
  30. Learn to play the guitar
Leave a Reply

